Overcoming Failure

So as a person going through what I like to call early adulthood, or the figuring it out stage, I find myself on the receiving end of lots of rejection, don’t get me wrong its not all bad but for every positive opportunity, I find it comes with 5 rejections. So how does one deal with rejection and the feeling of failure? Like many, I reach for the internet and those with expertise greater than mine for guidance and have tried to implement some of those ideas into my own life.

First and foremost, failure is different for each person. Identify it, what caused it, how does it make you feel. Once you define what failure entails for you, I find dealing with the emotional repercussions much easier.

The second is one I personally struggle with and it is to embrace how you feel. Failure is not meant to feel good. It makes vulnerable by bringing out our weaknesses, but in the end going through all the emotions at the beginning is much better than avoiding them entirely because the reality is it will catch up to you.

Thirdly, learn from it. Henry Ford once said that failure is the opportunity to begin again but more intelligently. Failure is never final, it is a set back. A rejection from one job opportunity does not make you unemployable. Take the opportunity to Identify your weaknesses, and improve on them. Are you a weak interviewee, practice, do your technical skills need work, there are plenty of workshops and seminars to help you improve them.

Finally, find inspiration. We are lucky to live in a time where we have access to content and people that can help to push us forward. With everything literally being a click away there has never been a greater time to jump back in to anything. Theres everything from self-help books to blogs (hint.. hint ;D) to movies. Even in some of our darkest time there are always uplifting ideas and perspectives to be shared.

Challenges are a part of life, but so are come backs. I once read this quote, I don’t know who said it, but it helps to both lift me up and keep me grounded, “Neither success or failure is ever final”. That wraps up my two cents on failure, how would you guys handle it, any tips or tricks, feel free to share.

Keep Smiling,

-M

 

 

Leave a Reply

