The Life Changing Magic of Tidying up-ish

With the start of a new school year looming, it always helps to get organized. Something about a clutter-free space really helps get a person in the zone productivity. Clutter-free space = Clutter-free mind, I can’t guarantee that but I’m sure it helps.

In the spirit of decluttering I decided to hop on the bandwagon and read Marie Kondo’s book ‘The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up’. It promised that once this method was implemented our homes will stay clean and clutter-free and cleaning will no longer be a daily hassle. That all sounds promising, so I took a giant leap into the world of cleaning, organizing…labelling.

Let’s start with the positive, Kondo highlights the importance of decluttering, before organizing, labelling or scrubbing anything you need to start by getting rid of all the stuff you don’t need. As a mom with a toddler, there were plenty of things that needed to go, anything from old baby clothes that were too worn, broken toys and plenty of stuff of my own. Safe to say the purging felt very good. The book also highlights that there is no such thing as not enough storage, just too many things, I definitely believe that as I dug out my fifth grey sweater from the back of my closet.

Another aspect I enjoyed, is the fact that every item should have its own home and should be returned to said home after use. This one may seem like a no brainer, but who would have thought if you put stuff away when your done using them the house stays clean and clutter free. It was definitely a wake up call for me. Another thing I appreciated was the tips she provided on how to organize things (iPhone cases as drawer organizers) and how to store things in a way that allowed them to take up less space (handbags inside of other handbags!!).

Now although her tips were very useful, I couldn’t implement everything, and to be honest I didn’t want to. One of her tips was to empty out your handbag  every night after you are done with it… now this may be feasible for some, but it would lead to me forgetting my wallet and other essentials that I prefer to keep in my bag. This tip may be targeted more towards people who switch out their bags on the daily, thats not me. Another thing she mentioned was to aim to do the entire clean out in one day. As someone whose time isn’t necessarily my own, I find breaking up a task into smaller chunks a lot more feasible.

To be honest when I started reading the book I was apprehensive, I mean do I really need a book to tell me how to clean up? The book ended up offering me lot’s of tips that I can incorporate into my daily life to maintain order in the house. Some of the tips include a daily 20 minute clean up, were everything is returned to its rightful home. Also other regions of the house are being organized which include the kitchen cabinets and bathrooms. The first completed project was the spare bedroom that my son uses as a play room, and my husband and I use for some storage. I would show you a before picture but i didn’t take one (probably due to the embarrassment)…But now I look at it and it makes me happy (just don’t open those boxes). I’ll keep you guys posted as I slowly work my way through the house organizing each room!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

