October Update!!

Happy Halloween!!! I love this time of year because you can truly see the change in the season and most importantly we are getting a lot closer to the holidays!! With the end of the month of October comes the update on the goal I chose to follow earlier and to make new goals for the next month. So at the beginning of the month I set a goal to go to the gym 3 times a week for 40 minutes. In order to accommodate this I chose the three days that fell during the week, so incase I miss a day I can make it up on the weekend.

I am happy to say that this challenge has been one of the most rewarding. This week alone I ended up going 5 days, I guess it’s true when they say it takes 30 days to build a habit. But lets back track, initially I wasn’t so inclined, I spend all day in school or work, do I really want to go to the gym after? The first week went slow but I got through it. Slowly but surely  it became something I looked forward to. In the final week of October I had three midterms scheduled so I was sure I would probably fall off the bandwagon then, interestingly I ended up going the most I had gone all month, the exercise really helped keep my stress at bay and I felt the most confident for the exams.

By taking up this challenge I’ve come up with a few tips if you, like myself, don’t see yourself as a gym bunny. First tip, pick a place thats close, I lucked out when I found out that the gym membership at my school came as part of my tuition, so I had access to a full gym for free. Also, it is close by and I can go after classes and before I got home. The second tip I alluded to before, try and make your gym days during the week, so if something were to happen and you miss a day you can always make it up on the weekend. Third, (this one was my favourite) invest a little, I find by buying some gym clothes (nothing too fancy) provided more of an incentive for me to go. Somehow the idea of getting to wear cute gym clothes really made me want to go (is it just me?). Finally, set goals for yourself. My favourite thing to do is to run on the track, but that can get a little tedious and boring, so every week I like to set a new challenge, whether it is to add an extra lap, or to alternate jogging and sprinting or to see how long I can run for. I found these enjoyable because you can really see yourself improving which provides more motivation.

Safe to say I really enjoyed this challenge not only for the physical benefits but also the mental, it provided a huge wake up call for me. Working out and taking care of your health should always come as a priority because its only through that can you take care of those around you. Now that we have spent the last month tackling the physical, this month we shall be tackling the mental. Real life can be fast paced, I don’t think that comes as a surprise to anyone, one of the major things I find myself lacking is presence. My mind is always preoccupied with what is going on elsewhere and something that feeds into that is social media.

Don’t get me wrong, I love social media, I love how it makes the world feel smaller and opens doors and opportunities that weren’t available even 10 years ago. However, I find that I have become all consumed, constantly checking to see what others are doing. Many of us believe that a short scroll through Facebook will have no impact, but in reality it breaks our focus and depending on what it is that we see it can leave us distracted. So the goal this month is to limit my social media checking to one 3 times a day. Once in the morning, once after school/work and once at night. To be honest I’m a little scared of this challenge because I feel constantly checking social media has become second nature, but lets see how it goes and I shall update you at the end of the month

Till then, keep smiling

-M

 

One thought on “October Update!!

Leave a Reply

